top of page
Search
  • mrw925

Last Day in Lyon

Bonjour tout le monde!!


Today was our last day in the beautiful city of Lyon. One of the mindsets of the French is to stay very in the moment and not focus on the future, and I tried to follow that when thinking about leaving.


My friends woke me up at 9 am this morning to go to Monoprix. I love Monoprix, but at 9am it was a little rough. I quickly got ready and then we rode bikes to the store. We walked around and picked up a few last minute things. Then we found a little spot for breakfast. I got some pancakes and a cappuccino.


my last France cappuccino


We headed back to the dorms and rested for a little bit. We also started to pack up our rooms. We met around 3:30 to go to the food market that we had been to earlier. I got the same cheese crescents I got the first time, and they were just as good. We all got our food and ate outside. After we ate and talked for awhile, we decided to take the metro to the Confluence quarter. Some of us wanted to go to the museum and some wanted to go to the mall, so we split up. Parker, Sam, Andrea and I went to the mall and wandered around for a bit. We ended up in the huge toy store we had been to before. The museum ended up being closed, so Talia Brett and Will came back to the mall. Sam, Parker and I found a sitting area outside on a balcony and I took a nap. We all were hungry, so we got some McDonald's in the mall.


After the mall, we headed to our favorite section of the city for our last night. We had a running inside joke from the first night about this place called Funky Monkey, so we decided to go there. I got my favorite cocktail and some Parmesan fries. They were super good. Even though everyone was exhausted, we savored every moment. Around 10, Sam, Parker, Andrea, and I decided to come home and finish packing. The others stayed at funky monkey and met Pierre and Clarisse.


Andrea on a statue on the way home; us at funky monkey; Parker, me and Sam



Once I finished up packing, Andrea and I headed to K-fete (the bar on campus) to meet everyone else. We had a goodbye breakfast in the morning so it wasn't quite goodbye-but it felt like it. We talked until K-fete closed, and slowly people left. I walked home with Will, Brett, and Parker.


me and Brett and Parker on our walk home, with the moon


I didn't really want to go to bed this night, because I knew what the morning would bring.


À plus tard,


Maggie


(Written for June 14)

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page